The Curriculum

We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage EYFS which starts at birth and continues until the end of the Reception year- from birth to five.

There are four themes to the EYFS which are:-

A unique child - every child is a competent learner from birth and can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured. 

Positive relationships - children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and / or a key person.

Enabling environments - the environment plays a keyrole in supporting and extending childrens learning and development.

Learning and development - children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and inter-connected.

Within the EYFS there are seven different areas of learning and development with "goals" for each area.


  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Physical development
  • Communication and language


  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Young children develop at different rates. All aspects of their development is of equal importance and is interlinked - they learn from everything that happens to them and do not separate their learning into subjects. We believe that experience of all these areas is vital to develop the "whole child" physically, intellectually, socially and emotionally. "Children are born ready, able and eager to learn. They actively reach out to interact with other people and the world around them. Development is not an automatic process, however. It depends upon each unique child having opportunities to interact in positive relationships and enabling environments"